UPDATE: New Laws Effective January 1, 2020
2019 marked a busy year for the Illinois legislature as there are 255 new laws that went into effect January 1, 2020. Here is a brief list of 10 new laws that are likely to affect you or your business:
- The Illinois Minimum Wage was increased from $8.25 to $9.25 per hour. On July 1st, the minimum wage will increase again to $10.00 per hour.
- The fine for failing to abide by Scott’s Law, which requires vehicles to slow down, change lanes and proceed with caution when approaching emergency vehicles has been increased to not less than $250 or more than $10,000 for a first violation, and a fine of not less than $750 or more than $10,000 for subsequent violations.
- Drivers who are found to be using electronic devices (e., texting) while driving are now subject to a $75 fine for a first offense, $100 fine for a second, $125 for a third and $150 for all subsequent offenses.
- The maximum fine for failure to use due caution in approaching or entering a highway construction or maintenance area or zone has been increased to $25,000, and further provides that a driver who fails to obey the instructions of any official traffic-control device shall be fined no less than $100 and no more than $1,000.
- In an effort to curb predatory debt collection practices, the Consumer Fairness Act has reduced the post-judgment interest on consumer debt under $25,000 from 9% to 5%.
- Health insurance companies are now required to cover medically necessary epinephrine injectors for children under the age of 18.
- The Illinois’ passenger vehicle registration fee has been increased from $101 to $151.
- In an effort to combat wage payment violations and unfair labor practices, Illinois has created the Worker Protection Unit Task Force. The task force is composed of the state’s leading regulatory agencies that impact workers, law enforcement and worker protection advocates.
- As the 11th state to allow recreational use of marijuana (although the federal government still considers it a Schedule I drug), Illinois residents over 21 may now possess up to 30 grams of cannabis flower, five grams of cannabis concentrate and 500 milligrams of THC-infused products. Non-Illinois residents can possess up to one-half of those amounts.
- Pursuant to the Workplace Transparency Act, Illinois employers are prohibited from including in a contract for employment a provision that requires an employee to waive, arbitrate, or otherwise diminish any existing or further claim related to an unlawful employment practice.
For more information on how the new laws that became effective January 1, 2020 may affect you or your business contact the attorneys at Rock Fusco & Connelly, LLC.